LuisToro Araya

Scroll for more
Copyright: Jose Abarca Herrar
Copyright: Jose Abarca Herrar


For availability and general enquiries:

For contracts, logistics and press:


General management with Askonas Holt Partner manager: Ibermusica: Spain, Portugal and Latin America

About Luis

Assistant Conductor: Orquesta Nacional de España

The 2023/24 season sees Chilean conductor Luis Toro Araya make debuts with Dresdner Philharmonie, Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal, Orquesta Sinfónica de Radio Televisión Española and Orquesta Filarmónica de Santiago, as well as return to Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias. He continues as assistant of Orquesta Nacional de España, this season conducting the orchestra at La Rioja Festival.

Luis was a 2022/23 Los Angeles Dudamel Fellow, making his debut with the orchestra that season. Other debuts included Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège, Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias, Staatsorchester Braunschweig and Musikkollegium Winterthur.

Luis was a finalist at the 2021 Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Competition Salzburg, as well as the 2022 International Conducting Competition Rotterdam, where he was awarded both the audience and opera prizes.

In 2015 he began his orchestral conducting studies in Chile with conductors such as Jorge Rotter, Leonid Grin, Garrett Keast and Helmuth Reichel Silva. Luis relocated to Zurich to continue his studies at Zurich University of Arts with Prof. Johannes Schlaefli and University of Music Franz Liszt in Weimar with Prof. Nicolás Pasquet.

Luis is based in Switzerland
Download programme biography

23/24 Season Highlights

Oct 2023 - Oct 2023
Ópera Nacional de Chile, Santiago
Orquesta Filarmónica de Santiago Debut TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 SCHUMANN: Overture 'Genoveva' Op. 81 WAGNER: Tristan und Isolde, Vorspiel und Liebestod
Dec 2023 - Dec 2023
Stadthalle Wuppertal
Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal Debut MOZART: Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551
Feb 2024 - Feb 2024
Dresdner Philharmonie
Dresdner Philharmonie Debut MOZART: Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551