Scroll for more
Nuno Coelho
Nuno Coelho


For availability and general enquiries:

For contracts, logistics and press:


General management with Askonas Holt

 Partner Managers: Ibermusica (Spain)

About Nuno

Chief Conductor and Artistic Director: Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias

Nuno has been Chief Conductor of Spain’s Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias since October 2022. In addition to concerts in Oviedo, this season sees him debut with the hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, Orquestra Sinfônica de São Paulo, Orquesta Nacional de España and Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège, and return to the Luxembourg Philharmonic and Gulbenkian Orchestra. Further ahead, he returns to Antwerp Symphony and Tampere Philharmonic and debuts with Stavanger Symphony and Minnesota Orchestra.

Highlights of the last two seasons have included concerts with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Dresden Philharmonie, Staatsorchester Hannover, Gävle Symfoniorkester, Malmö Symphony, Residentie Orkest, Orchestre philharmonique de Strasbourg, Orquesta Sinfonica de Galicia and Orquestra Simfónica de Barcelona.

Nuno has conducted productions of La traviata, Cavalleria rusticana, Rusalka and Manon. In November 2022 he conducted his own staging of José Saramago’s reimagining of Don Giovanni at the Gulbenkian, having previously conducted their semi-staging of Così fan tutte the previous season.

Nuno won First Prize at the 2017 Cadaqués International Conducting Competition. He was a Los Angeles Philharmonic Dudamel Fellow between 2018-19 and stepped in for Bernard Haitink that same season to debut with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Nuno is based in Vienna
Download programme biography

23/24 Season Highlights

Sep 2023
Teatro Campoamor, Oviedo
Massanet: Manon Ópera de Oviedo
Oct 2023
Sala São Paulo
Nuno Da Rocha: Inferno Mozart: Symphony No.36 R. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo
Nov 2023
Auditorio Nacional, Madrid
Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales R. Strauss: Rosenkavalier Suite Orquesta Nacional de España