MichaelTilson Thomas

Scroll for more


Jo Fry

Jo Fry

Associate Director
Dora Michael

Dora Michael

Assistant Artist Manager


Worldwide general management with Askonas Holt

About Michael

Founder & Artistic Director Laureate: New World Symphony Music Director Laureate: San Francisco Symphony Conductor Laureate: London Symphony Orchestra

Michael Tilson Thomas is the Founder and Artistic Director Laureate of the New World Symphony Orchestra, Music Director Laureate of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, and Conductor Laureate of the London Symphony Orchestra.

He has won eleven Grammys for his recordings, is the recipient of the National Medal of Arts (the highest honour for artistic excellence in the United States), which was presented to him by President Barack Obama, and is an Officer in the French Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. For his lifetime artistic achievements, he was selected to receive the 2019 Kennedy Center Honors.

As a guest conductor, he works with the world’s leading orchestras, including the Wiener Philharmoniker, Orchestre de Paris, Chicago Symphony Orchestra and The Cleveland Orchestra.

Mr. Tilson Thomas’s compositions are published by G. Schirmer. In 1991, he and the New World Symphony were presented in a series of benefit concerts for UNICEF in the United States, featuring Audrey Hepburn as narrator of his work From the Diary of Anne Frank, which was commissioned by UNICEF. In August 1995, he led the Pacific Music Festival Orchestra in the premiere of his composition Shówa/Shoáh, commemorating the 50th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima. His vocal music includes settings of poetry by Walt Whitman and Emily Dickinson, which were premiered by Thomas Hampson and Renée Fleming, respectively. In 2016, Yuja Wang premiered his piano piece You Come Here Often?

Mr. Tilson Thomas co-founded the New World Symphony in Miami Beach, a postgraduate orchestral academy dedicated to preparing young musicians of diverse backgrounds for leadership roles in classical music. The New World Symphony has long been at the forefront of developments in the arts and in education. Since 2011, the campus of the New World Symphony has been the technologically advanced Frank Gehry–designed New World Center.

Download programme biography   


Worldwide general management with Askonas Holt

Season Highlights

Oct 2023
Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 San Francisco Symphony San Francisco Symphony Chorus
Nov 2023
Symphony Center Orchestra Hall
Mozart: German Dance K. 605 Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major K488 Brahms (arr. Schoenberg): Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor Op. 25 Chicago Symphony Orchestra Orion Weiss, piano




  • MTT with the LSO, Christian Tetzlaff Violin

    Barbican, London
    May 2023
    • There is a sense that every concert the London Symphony Orchestra gets to give with its conductor laureate, Michael Tilson Thomas, is now a gift – this evening of Brahms came a little over a year after the announcement that he was being treated for an aggressive form of brain cancer. Yet if Tilson Thomas’s own dynamic energy now needs to be husbanded to some extent, this did not translate into any loss of momentum or intensity in the orchestra’s performance: small gestures – a lean towards the cellos here, a shimmy of the fingers to fade out the brass there – were enough to shape the music into the kind of long, elastic lines that make Brahms’s notes glow